Tutorial: Herb Shots

I couldn’t resist showing you this really nifty idea, which is slightly beyond my usual tutorials as it is cooking related. I found it so long ago on a random blog – I can’t even remember which one – but I thought it was such a good idea I had to share it with you.

One of the things I find really annoying about buying herbs from the supermarket is that you always seem to have a small amount left over that goes off before you have a chance to use it. Now that I am growing some fresh herbs in the garden this does eliminate some problems, but what about those random herbs that you only use on odd occasions or can’t seem to grow? For example, when we had some friends come to stay I made a smoked salmon and dill tart. I don’t use dill very often, mainly with fish, so I ended up with a big bunch left over going to waste. Does this happen to you too? If so turn the left over herbs into herb shots.

YOU WILL NEED:

  • left over herbs
  • jug of cold water
  • scissors
  • ice cube tray
  • a freezer

METHOD:
1. Start by filling your empty ice cube tray with the herbs. Cut the herbs up using scissors and make sure they are each in a different slot and not over flowing onto each other. Do not compact the herbs down too much otherwise your water will not filter through.

2. Fill the slots with the water. Try not to over fill but make sure all the herbs are covered. You can do this stage straight in the freezer if you like, just open the freezer tray place the ice cube tray in and fill with water in position.

3. Make sure you put the tray in the freezer and leave over night to freeze. Once frozen you can always pop the cubes out of the tray and store them in a food bag in the freezer so that you can use the tray again.

When you are next making a sauce for your fish dish all you have to do is pop one of the herb shots into the saucepan and allow it to melt and infuse into the sauce. I think this is a really good money saving, thrifty idea. After all, it is good home management to ensure we use the food we buy properly.
xx